Select magazine number



Old site version

Ukraines Lyudyna Roku  Person of the Year contest



The Lyudyna Roku2005 award-presentation ceremony was held at the Ukrayina Palats Concert Hall in Kyiv on March 11 2006. The Lyudyna Roku  Person of the Year contest was held for the tenth time, and consequently it was the tenth such ceremony.


This years ceremony was a particularly elaborate and glittering one. It was staged with an evident intention of marking the tenth anniversary of the Lyudyna Roku contests in Ukraine in a special way. Besides, it was a nice change from the heat and strain of the recently held parliamentary elections.

The ceremony was staged as a talent-celebration show rather than a ceremony proper. It opened with a fiery dance, Legend of Prometheus, inspiringly performed by a young Japanese dancer, Yosito Kinosita, who is a pupil of Vadym Pisarev, a remarkable Ukrainian choreographer and dancer. It was Pisarev who performed this dance at the opening of the Lyudyna Roku ceremony ten years ago.

This years ceremony-show was staged in a very impressive manner. Choreography, stage scenery, light effects, music and general arrangement were at a high degree of excellence.

Within the ten years that the Lyudyna Roku contests have been held, new politicians and public figures came on the scene and it is well reflected in the lists of people who have won awards in different Lyudyna Roku categories. The awardees also include prominent show biz performers, musicians and athletes who contributed a lot to improving the image of Ukraine abroad.

Also, the Lyudyna Roku contests have become international as the list of the awardees confirms. The criteria for choosing the best of the best in their respective categories have been elaborated and stringently applied. n



Photos have been provided by the organization committee of Lyudyna Roku


Awardees of the Lyudyna Roku-2005 contest

Public Leader of the Year

Volodymyr Lytvyn, former speaker of parliament


Regional Leader of the Year

Oleksandr Cherevko, head of the Cherkasy Oblast Administration


Mayor of the Year

Yevhen Kartashov, mayor of Zaporizhzhya


Industrialist of the Year

Yevhen Dmitriyev, head of the Krymsky Titan company


Entrepreneur of the Year

Serhiy Taruta, chairman of the board of directors of the Industrialny Soyuz Donbasu conglomerate


Manager of the Year

Oleh Radkovsky, president of the Bereh-grupp Holding


Financier of the Year

Borys Tymonkin, chairman of the board of the Ukrsotsbank Bank


Leader of Small- and Middle-sized Business of the Year

Alyans Corporation


Ukrainian Trade Mark of the Year

Furshet supermarket chain


Investment of the Year

Investments projects of the MMZ Instyl Ukraine Company


Agrarian of the Year

Oleksiy Vadatursky, director general of the Nibulon Joint Venture


Journalist of the Year (print editions)

Serhiy Rakhmanin, newspaper Dzerkalo Tyzhnya


Journalist of the Year (radio, television and on-line Internet editions)

Yury Toropchynov, Era Radio and Television Company


Scientist of the Year

Valery Heyets, director of the Institute of Economics, Academy of Science of Ukraine


Actor of the Year

Ostap Stupka, Ivan Franko Theatre


Athlete of the Year

Yury Krymarenko, track and field world champion


Patron of Art of the Year

Vadym Rabynovych, president of the inter-confessional association Krok do yednosti (Step Towards Unity)


Young Talent of the Year

Tetyana Komashchenko, Grand Prix winner at the All-Ukraine Festival Svit talantiv (World of Talent)


International Prize for Public and Political Activities

Valdas Adamcus, President of Lithuania


International Prize for Contribution to the Development of Culture and Art

Vladimir Shayinsky, composer, Russia


International Prize for Diplomatic Work

Kishichiro Amae, Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary Ambassador of Japan in Ukraine


Special Prize for Outstanding Service to Ukraine

Oleh Blokhin, chief coach of the national football team of Ukraine


Appreciation Certificate for popularizing the image of Ukraine in the world

Oleksandra Nikolayenko, organizer of the contest Stan Miss Vsesvit v Ukrayini (Compete to Become Miss Universe)


Valdas Adamcus.


Oleksandr Cherevko.


Valery Heyets.


Borys Tymonkin.


Oleh Blokhin.


Yury Krymarenko.


Volodymyr Hryshko.


Vladimir Shayinsky.


Serhiy Rakhmanin.


Ostap Stupka.


Tetyana Komashchenko.


logo 2002 - 2014
No?aiu Naaa?iie Aia?eee No?aiu ??iie Aia?eee No?aiu Ao?eee Aano?aeey No?aiu Acee No?aiu Caiaaiie Aa?iiu No?aiu Ainoi?iie Aa?iiu e ?inney